Spring 2014Chapter of the Year Award

On Tuesday, February 25, 2014 our Southern California HIMSS chapter was awarded Chapter of the Year Award / Large Chapter at the HIMSS14 Awards and Recognition Banquet in Orlando, Florida. This is the second time our chapter has won this award in the last three years. President Clark Kegley was unable to attend the banquet, so President-Elect James Brady accepted the award on his behalf.

JBrady AwardMasters of Ceremonies Scott Maclean and Carol Steltenkamp with President-Elect James Brady

A large contingent of Southern California Chapter members was on hand to celebrate the award.

group awardFrom left to right:  Kim Green, Tim Jones, Sam King, Adam Burns, James Brady, Dianne Baker, Sri Bharadwaj, Angela Rivera, Ruth Slater and Geri Pavia.

Other award recipients that evening included:
Foundation-Supported Scholarship Recipients

  • Undergraduate – Robin Hernandez, BS, Health Information Administration, Loma Linda University
  • Master’s – Marie Dunn, SM Candidate, Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health
  • PhD – Roosan Islam, Biomedical Informatics PhD Program, University of Utah
  • Richard P Covert, PhD, LFHIMSS Scholarship for Management Systems – Yana Ruegsegger, Executive MBA, Health Administration, University of Colorado, Denver

Chapter Supported Scholarship Recipients

  • HIMSS Georgia Chapter Scholarship (New for FY’14) – Christi E. Snider, Health Information Administration, Georgia Regents University
  • HIMSS New York Chapter Scholarship – Neha Patadia, Master’s in Health Informatics and Policy, Weill Cornell Medical College
  • HIMSS Northern California Scholarship – Elizabeth Bigby, Executive Leadership, Doctor of Nursing Practice, University of San Francisco
  • HIMSS South Florida Chapter Scholarship – Juan Carlos Gallegos, MS in Health Informatics, Florida International University
  • HIMSS Virginia Chapter Scholarship (New for FY’14) Caitlin High Hosmer, Master of Health Administration and Juris Doctor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Service Awards
Board of Directors Service Award – Outgoing BOD members are honored for their service:

  • Willa Fields, DNSc, RN, FHIMSS (former Chair)
  • R. Scott Holbrook, MS, LFHIMSS (former Vice Chair)
  • Indranil Ganguly, CHCIO, FCHIME, FHIMSS
  • Steven L. Arnold, MD, MS, MBA, CPE, FHIMSS
  • Glenn Tullman

 Chapter Leader of the Year Award

  • Anthony Ferrante, New York State Chapter and New Jersey Chapter
  • Brian Moyer, CPHIMS, FHIMSS, Tennessee Chapter

Chapter of the Year Award

  • Large Chapter – Southern California, President Clark Kegley
  • Medium Chapter – Arizona, President Debbie Vogel, FHIMSS
  • Small Chapter – Nebraska, President Lori Beeby, PMP

 Distinguished Fellows Service Award

  • Joe Miller, MA, FHIMSS

 Founders Leadership Award

  • Terri Ripley, MIT, PMP, CPHIMS, FHIMSS

 John A. Page Outstanding Service Award

  • Janis L. Curtis, MSPH

 New Life Members

  • Marion J. Ball, EdD, LFHIMSS, FCHIME, FACMI
  • A. Charles Platt, LFHIMSS, FACHE, DSHS, MSHA, MSIE
  • Everett Rice, LHIMSS
  • Paul Simmons, PE, LFHIMSS

 Outstanding Special Interest Group Member

  • Allan Castro, Feliciano Yu, MD, Richard Stepanek, CPHIMS – Co-chairs of the Pediatrics Health Informatics & Technology SIG

 Publication Award – Book of the Year Award

  • Engage! Transforming Healthcare Through Digital Patient Engagement – Authors Dave Chase, Kat T. Christensen, MD, Brad Tritle, COPP, Jan Oldenburg, Editor

 Joint Industry Awards

  • ACCE

 Excellence in Clinical Engineering and Information Technology Synergies Award

  • Emanuel Furst, PhD, CCE
  • Society for Health Systems

 Excellence in Healthcare Management Engineering/Process Improvement Award

  • Pauline M. Hogan-Byom, MBA, DSHS, FHIMSS

Industry Service Awards
Nursing Informatics Leadership Award

  • Willa Fields, DNSc, RN, FHIMSS

Physician IT Leadership Award

  • Keith Salzman, MD, MPH, FACHE, FAAFP, ABPM-CIBC, COL(R), MC, USA

 John E. Gall, Jr. CIO of the Year

  • Edward W. Marx, FHIMSS, FCHIME

Back to Spring 2014 Newsletter